I'm posting this in the expert category because I need some expert opinion or advice. There is no wrong or right answer, just need opinion from people who are experienced in IT.

I have to do a research paper that provides "substantive analysis" on the future of a given technology (IT related). The list we can pick from are all things I've never worked with such as broadband networks, Information Security, Telecom Management, etc. The only category he gives that I remotely know anything about is Web Design and Development. So, that is the category I need to focus on.

I need to focus on one aspect within Web Design & Development and write the paper on my opinion about the future of it, backing it up with evidence.

I have some experience with html. I know that html5 is the wave of the future for this language. What do you think of html5 for a 12 page double spaced paper? I guess I have to keep it focused.

So, I'm just posting this to see what kind of ideas others might have for an inexperienced person. This class is about the management of IT, which seems like it should be required AFTER a person has more hands on skills training in the technology itself.

I can only speculate on the future of something I don't have experience with. I keep thinking about html5 just because its the closest to anything I know about.

Thanks for any input.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You haven't provided too much info on the program or the course so there isn't much context for your question. I would interpret "management of IT" as being the impact on Corporations (and their IT departments) of the future direction of one of these technologies. Your ability to provide a "substantive analysis" will depend on your ability to find good source materials about the expected technical direction and the impact that will have. Your instructor's expectation of what a substantive analysis should contain will depend on the level of the course (high school, PHD or somewhere in between!).