I have been offered an old mac - a desktop version one where its built all into the screen (im new to macs) and have been told it was the top version of the PowerPC model. I have been told £800 for it, all the stuff and OSX tiger cd's . Is that good?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Firstly, what do you want and what are you getting?
You want to buy a desktop mac. This is clear. However, you do not know which model it is. From the word "old" I had assumed that it was an eMac (I do not recommend, this is already out of date and you could get a more recent model for 800 pounds). But, the fact that you mention OSX and Tiger cds hints at it being either of the older PPC iMacs (the iMac G4 with the half-spherical base; or, more likely, the flatscreen iMac G5) rather than the newest Intel iMac (flatscreen all-in-one). In terms of price, the iMac is very affordable, and as a satisfied switcher, I would recommend it.

Does the package you are buying include warranties, AppleCare, insurance, a mouse or a keyboard?

Tips:
I would suggest that you look at the refurbished store first, as buying directly from another consumer may lead to worries in pricing, hardware setup, software, and warranties.
http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObjects/ukstore.woa/1034041/wo/lZ1xBXq8YlHS3g29tDa1guCdzqp/0.PSLID?mco=7D63ECE6&nclm=Promos
If the link is expired, just go to apple.com/uk and scroll down to the bottom, where you'll see the red save tag.

Also, do a little more digging:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_Macintosh
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMac

However, If I were you, I would also wait until I was sure that:
I definitely want to "switch"
I need a desktop [Edit: append computer] (laptops are preferable for college students, who also get discounts on hardware and software :) )
OS X or its OS successors will allow me to use the software that I need (Mathematica, Photoshop, etc.)