I am a partner in a company that deals with various aspects of the web presence of a company. Those aspects some times touch back office and more often replace it entirely. I have no idea of the mobile games field but last week my interest flamed. I tried several games in my phone that were “most downloaded” in Google Play and I couldn't find anything that made them really unique as ideas or great as graphics and user experience. That made me think of a game I have developed back in 2005 and I recreated it . So now I have this game that is build with PhoneGap and could easily make in Java for Android as well (objective C is not my thing … but if I had to I can write in that as well).

The graphics isn't great (remember I am a programmer, and although my company has a graphic designer she has nothing to do with creating creatures) , we could pay around 500$ to 1000$ to make them what we need (very simple graphic job) , but will we get our money back ? Of all the payment resolution I found that the most “honest” one (for me) is to charge for another round of levels when someone finishes the levels. All the other approaches seems a little lame or chip.

Should I invest 1000$ or maybe more to that or the whole mobile games thing is a big mess that only a company that spend a lot can make money out of it ? What is your opinion ?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I'm going to write no, not worth it. Why? From https://www.quora.com/How-much-money-can-an-Android-developer-earn-from-a-free-app-on-the-Google-Play-store I read this.

200000 installs in and earned around $1500. Although it was called an interesting game and is highly rated, most users stopped playing it after a day or two.

That was over 2 years so unless you have the next Angry Birds, it's just not going to pay off for some time.