I am new to systems and my first project is to analyze leasing vs. purchasing in relation to IT hardware.

Does any one have any case studies or experiences they could relate that would shed some light beyond the numbers on the page?

I am new to systems and my first project is to analyze leasing vs. purchasing in relation to IT hardware.

Does any one have any case studies or experiences they could relate that would shed some light beyond the numbers on the page?

I don't have any case studies but I can offer you my experiences. I was the IT manager for the regional office of a fortune 500 company for the past 5 years and a LAN Admin for 5 years prior to that.
My company used to purchase but has been leasing for several years now. While it has it's share of problems and requires good management skills, Leasing is the better way to go.

We lease PC's for 3 years and laptops for 2 years. Servers vary.
The great thing about leasing is that your company budgets and pays a monthly cost. When the lease is up the old PC's go back and are replaced with shiny new ones, and you continue to pay roughly the same monthly cost... sometimes less. The bean counters love this.:)

Rough example : You need 20 PC's for your Client Service staff at roughly $3K each. Spread out over 3 years your company budgets approx $1700/month +/-. Compare that to convincing your management to come up with a lump sum of $60,000. In most cases you will be using your old, outdated PC's for an additional 1 - 2 years.