what is the ratio between development and maintenance???

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

The ratio of what? If it's time, I'd say for every minute you spend during development, you should expect to spend an hour on maintenance.

yea i know but i need a professional answer, taken from a good reference coz i wanna discuss the ratio between them. am sorry but i need a specific answer without playing games.. thanx

commented: Please use real English. -1

I'm a professional, and that's my answer. Anything more requires benchmarks from real projects and I'm not willing to do that for you.

i don't wanna be rude, but am not asking u to do anything for me except give me a general ratio.
by the way thanks a lot

There's no general ratio. If you're expecting one, you'll be waiting until somebody spends his life doing benchmarks.

We have ration for document and development. but we dnt hv any ratio for development and maintenance. As per my knowledge we cant define any ratio for this.

We have ration for document and development. but we dnt hv any ratio for development and maintenance. As per my knowledge we cant define any ratio for this.

And neither can anyone else. I have been developing for over 25 years and Narue is right -- if you want a rule-of-thumb, or guestimate, then 1:60 (one minute development to 1 hour maintenance) is a reasonable one. Where I work we wrote a program 5 years ago and have been maintaining it every since because the customer keeps changing requirements and updating the hardware the program runs on. Its ok for us because we made tons of money on it and continue to do so every time the customer adds new requirements of changes existing ones, but that beside the point.

if we spend this much time for maintenance then when will develope new product...