Hi,
I recently (Nov '06) moved over to an iMac from a Dell pc. The switch was good as newer OS's and hardware was needed. I am a newsletter editor for two separate organizations and a secretary & historian for another. I do a lot of word processing and record keeping for these groups. I would like to find Mac software that can do it all at few $$$.

On the Dell, I was using MS Office 2000 Premium (Word, Access, Publisher, Excel, etc.) and it was filling my needs. Unfortunately, as we all know, Office for Mac does not have Publisher nor Access (Sigh!); for what-ever reasoning. Anyways, I tried Mac's iWork '06 and found Pages to be a good product, but limited.

I need to find a publishing program that can integrate with 'Pages' if at all possible. I would also like to know if there are any database programs for a Mac's similar to the workings of MS Access.

I have upgraded considerably, but I need better programs than I have found to help me.

PS - In the meantime, I have installed Parallels, Windows XP Home, and MS Office 2000 onto a virtural drive within Parallels. It allows the newsletters and some other needs, but I really would like to work with the iMac and software designed for it.

Thank You for taking time to help!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The best commercial solution for databases on the Mac platform is FileMaker Pro. Although it does offer an Access database conversion tool, I'd avoid it as MacWorld is quoted as saying along the lines of "experts agree that the conversion tool will need much tweaking to get the database working." So, if your database is small, you might be better off recreating it.

As for a Publisher replacement, I'd recommend checking out this thread here, as many suggestions for it were offered here:
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/thread14020.html

Joeprogrammer,