OK, this one is for the builders out there. Have just about had it with this HP pavilion desktop, thinking about building one like I want. Price range for mobe and processor around 200$. Like the Apevia micro ATX case, so lets start there. What mobo and processor would you guys and gails go with? I need one with good documention,for bios which I have little knowledge on so lets kiss ( keep it simple -----), would like to reuse my Hdd, CD\DVD burner, BTW my HDD is SATA, burners are ide. Could I use my present CPU cooler on a Pentium 4 Prescott or Celeron D processor? It seems to be working fine as I write this.Basicly I just want to replace this computer for home use, no power user here.

Recommended Answers

All 54 Replies

Check out newegg, they have the best prices and very fast shipping.. Products are reliable too. I don't think it really matters what type of mobo or processor you get.. However, I prefer amd over intel. ASUS motherboards are reliable.. Make sure the processor socket and ram matches.. you can usually check your CPU cooler's manufacturer and check what cpus you can adequately cool.

I just built a cheap box to run Vista on a couple weeks ago. I was on a tight budget so I stuck with a AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+, 2GB of RAM, and an ASUS M2NPV-VM motherboard. Don't know how the mobo shapes up on reviews, but it's working just fine. I've even got mine just using shared memory for video, which saves the cost of a graphics card, and the mobo has 2 IDE buses and 4 SATA ports. It's also got an AM2 socket, so there's room can upgrade the processor later if you feel like it, and a PCI-E x16 if you want to throw a GPU in. I put a 400W power supply in, just to be on the save side. For the case, PSU, mobo, CPU, and RAM I spent under $500, and carried over two HDDs and a DVD-burner from another computer.

If you're not concerned with cost, look into getting an Intel Core 2 Duo, but I've not looked into parts for those at all (like I said, I was on a budget).