Hi all

I started learning C# but I became annoyed at the need for the .NET enviroment on every machine the program was run on, so I switched to C++ and started learning that. I am hearing talk about C++ dying out and C# is better and is where all the jobs and money is , is that true and is C# better than C++ and are employers looking for C# instead of C++?

Many thanks

HLA91

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

If you are just learning, why are you concerned with the need for the .NET environment? Learn to program before worrying about distribution issues. C++ is not dying out. There is still a lot of work available. Again, not an issue to be concerned with when you are just starting out. If you learn one of them and need to use the other, you can cross that bridge when you come to it.

The reason I was woried about the .NET enviroment is that I wanted my programs to work on nearly all machines and I know a few of my freinds use Linux and I wanted to be able to send them the program to try out, thank you for telling me C++ is not dying as I am getting the hang of it now and would be a shame for me to change

Many thanks

HLA91

They prolly say that because C# is just plain easier. There's also the draw of the .NET framwork (I know you think it's a pain in some light, true but...). I like having this massive library of functions for common/intermediate tasks at my direct disposal, plus easily using libraries from my collegue targeted for the same platform.

Even still I myself am thinking about looking into C++ now that I have a pretty solid C# foundation

>I started learning C# but I became annoyed at the need for the
>.NET enviroment on every machine the program was run on