Somehow I had a new Windows Security Center messase pop up & say that Spware Guard 2008 is inactive. Don't know how it appeared and now it pops up, I can't x out of it and I can't remove fom programs. I don't know what to do.

I am not a techie and need help. Thanks.

Connie

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Did you google Spyware Guard 2008? It would seem that the web is full of advice on how to remove this malware. There is a manual method described at:
http://www.removal-instructions.com/removeSpywareGuard2008.html

This method would work if your PC is at least useable. What I would do is slightly different, but you need to be slightly techie and have two PCs.

I would remove your hard drive and put it into a USB enclosure and attach it to the second PC as an external drive. Then I would delete all the Spyware Guard 2008 files listed in the link I provided, namely:

%Windìr%\sys.com
%Windìr%\vmreg.dll
%ProgramFiles%\Spyware Guard 2008\
%ProgramFiles%\Spyware Guard 2008\conf.cfg
%ProgramFiles%\Spyware Guard 2008\mbase.vdb
%ProgramFiles%\Spyware Guard 2008\quarantine.vdb
%ProgramFiles%\Spyware Guard 2008\queue.vdb
%ProgramFiles%\Spyware Guard 2008\vbase.vdb
%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Programs\Spyware Guard 2008\Spyware Guard 2008.lnk
%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Programs\Spyware Guard 2008\Uninstall.lnk
%UserProfile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\olesys.dll
%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Programs\Spyware Guard 2008\
%UserProfile%\Desktop\Spyware Guard 2008.lnk
SpywareGuard2008[1].exe
Spyware Guard 2008.lnk
spywareguard.exe
olesys.dll
wsc32x.exe
winscenter.exe
SpywareGuard2008.exe

I would then put the disk back in the original PC, boot up - ignore the error messages protesting at the missing files. Then Run a Registry Cleaner program which will pick upand remove the orphaned registry entries.

Let us know what you do and how you get on.

Please do the following:
Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware to your desktop.