Hi folks
This is my first time here you come very highly recomended. As my title says i am another poor soul who has been hi-jacked by spyaxe. I have ad-adware se. spy bot s&d, spykiller and nortons 2006. Spy bot and nortons find spyaxe but niether can get rid of the icon and bubble in the task bar. Please can you help me? Assume i am a newbie to editing when giving me any tasks to do. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Hi Toad53, welcome to DaniWeb :)

Spyaxe is one of those infections that demands special removal steps; Norton, SpyBot, etc. alone can't kill it.

Let's start with the first step; please do the following:

Download the (free) HijackThis utility:

http://www.stevewolfonline.com/Downloads/DMR/Spyware%20Tools/HJT/HijackThis.exe

Once downloaded, follow these instructions to install and run the program:

Create a folder for HJT outside of any Temp/Temporary folders and move/extract HijackThis to that folder now. A folder such such as C:\HijackThis or C:\Spyware Tools\HijackThis will do.

Run HijackThis, but do not have HJT fix anything yet; only have it scan your system! Once the scan is complete, the "Scan" button will turn into an option to "Save log...".
Save the log in the folder you created for HijackThis; the saved file will be named "hijackthis.log". Open the log file with Windows Notepad, and cut-n-paste the entire contents of the Notepad file here.

The log contents will tell us a lot about what "nasties" have crept into your system, and once we analyse the log we can tell you what to do from there.

Hi Toad53, welcome to DaniWeb :)

Spyaxe is one of those infections that demands special removal steps; Norton, SpyBot, etc. alone can't kill it.

Let's start with the first step; please do the following:

Download the (free) HijackThis utility:

http://www.stevewolfonline.com/Downloads/DMR/Spyware%20Tools/HJT/HijackThis.exe

Once downloaded, follow these instructions to install and run the program: