Hi! I am new to this but from what I have seen I feel confident that someone can come to my rescue.

My son's computer has decided to have a heart attack and no matter what I do/have done nothing has helped.

On 1/01/06 he started his computer and carried out his usual antics, MSN, surfing the web, downloading music etc. The computer was turned off for a couple of hours and when he rebooted it the only thing it does is go to his background, no 'START' button/menu, no icons what so ever. The only thing that comes up is a message as follows:

EXPLORER.EXE - Application error.
the application failed to initialise properly (Oxc0000022) Click on OK to terminate the application.

About 5 minutes later the following message appears:

RUNDLL
Error loading newdev.dll.
Access is denied.

I have restarted in Safe Mode, gone through all temp folders, history, checked every possible place for strange files. I have run HJT, ewido, spysweeper and numerous other cleaning things.

The computer has AVG free which picked up several trojans and viruses. These have been dealt with.

After spending many hours over the past couple of days and losing lots of sleep I have come to the end of my rope.

Can anyone help me. Any assistance would be greatly received.

Regards

Cathy

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

The errors you're experiencing could be due to a few different things, so it might take some work to pinpoint/fix the exact cause. Can you help us narrow down the possibilities, please?

1. Was the spyware/virus cleaning done after the problem appeared, or before? Can you tell us the names (or even the symptoms) of any of the infections?

2. Run the System File Checker to see if it detects any missing/corrupt system files; instructions for/explanation of the SFC utility are here). If problems are found, it may prompt you for the XP install CD in order to retrieve good copies of the files it needs to refresh/replace.