Hi everyone,

I've searched through the threads and found a couple of people with the same problem, but I was just wondering if I should download HiJack and post my log or if another course of action was preferable. My problem is as follows:

Once I turn my computer on even before attempting to open my browser, a ton of internet explorer windows (we're talking over 50) open. It only just started a little over a week ago and is becoming rather annoying pretty quickly plus I don't want it to lead to more serious problems so I joined this forum hoping for the best.

If you could please let me know what I should do, that would be fantastic. Thanks a lot, everyone!

P.S. Sorry if this is posted in the wrong category or just posted incorrectly in some other way; I'm new to messageboards in general.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Welcome to the strange world of messageboards :)
If the other threads (like the proposed ones on the bottom of this page) didn't contain any help, a HJT log would be a good idea. Are the IE windows opening with certain websites?

Um it doesn't even necessarily open while i'm browing the web. Sometimes it pops up when I just sign onto my computer. I ran AVG and Ad-aware and found and dealt with some trojans and additional spyware, but i'm still getting these windows every now and then. Usually a little window pops up saying that a site (which is generally 62.4 ... something) is trying to access a site on my "trusted list" which is either winantivirus.com or sysprotect. I'm not exactly sure how to go about generating a HJT log but will scan the site and post one asap if it'll help with the diagnosis. Thanks a lot!

Download HJT: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html

To post a HijackThis log, please do the following:

Create a folder for HJT outside of any Temp/Temporary folders and move/extract HijackThis to that folder now. A folder such such as C:\HijackThis or C:\Spyware Tools\HijackThis will do.