OK, please bear with me as I am not an expert here.
I have a new Linux server that is mainly used to run my companies proprietary software.
In the software is the capability to send various reports and things like statements and invoices in PDF format using email. The software sends the info to sendmail, and sendmail mails it out. Simple enough, but we hit a big problem: our mail is being detected as spam and filtered out.

Here is the scenario: I have a domain name for my company. For privacy sake lets call it abc123.com (my apologies if this is a real domain). I have a company that hosts my website and email for my employees. Unfortunately, that company has a poor spam filter, so I also subscribe to a third party spam filter. My MX records for my email point to the third party spam filter, and they in turn direct the mail to my host. This works exceptionally well for spam as I went from 200-300 per day per user (over 100 users) to 2-3 per day per user with almost zero lost emails.

OK, so that being said, when I send mail with my Linux server, it goes out the same internet IP address as my PC (All computers, client or server, use the same gateway and same static IP). The application takes the email that I set up in the applications user file and puts that in the reply-to (ie dkersten@abc123.com). However, if I send the mail to myself, it never arrives. So I started looking in to possible problems. The linux server uses my ISP's SMTP relay. I tried to use my email hosts SMTP but it requires authentication, and I cannot authenticate with sendmail (that I know of). So I use the SMTP relay offered by my ISP.