hey guys.

okay. i googled my a s s off and I can't find someone or a website that explains what these files mean when you download the dvd for slackware? I want to make a quadruple boot external hard drive with Ubuntu, Fedora, Slackware and CentOs on it. Basicaly I just want to learn linux and also the server side. Im new to Linux and managed to Install ubuntu, but what do all these files mean in the dvd iso?

The exact names of all these files are:

slackware-13.0-install-dvd.iso
slackware-13.0-install-dvd.iso.asc
slackware-13.0-install-dvd.iso.md5
slackware-13.0-install-dvd.iso.txt

So...if I burn the .iso file to a dvd and boot up, will I be presented with a fairly easy installation procedure? I read online that they say you should partition your drive and create all these partitions for swap and the /root and /home directories. Do you have different partitions for all the directories? This is so confusing. I want to format my external hard drive in Ubuntu and then boot into slack and just choose the next partition to install it to. Is it that easy?

I have no clue what these people mean with all these partitions and stuff. Sorry if my question is a bit dumb or confusing.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

To avoid confusion and to make it easier, you can put all directories in one partition. There are reasons of efficiency/security in operation for various partitioning strategies but none are essential for a newbie.

The .iso files are the data files containing the disc image. The .iso is short for ISO 9960, an international standard format for CDs.