I am sick of windoz, and want to move to Linux. The problem is that i can not find any distributions that i like, because LINUX IS TOO COMPLICATED!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:

I absolutely DESPISE Gnome. I love KDE, though. How do i get Gentoo to load KDE instead of Gnome? I have no experience what so ever with Linux, so PLEASE explain stuff....:confused:

I guess if i can't figure out Linux, i will have to stick with the lesser of two evils... :sad:

Please help if at all possible...

Recommended Answers

All 27 Replies

As long as you don't have KDE on your hard drive, it's pretty pointless trying to run a non-existant program. You can either use the graphical package manager included with Gnome to do the job, or if you're feeling handy, start up the terminal and enter the following commands:

# su
[enter password, although it won't appear onscreen]
# emerge kde

And then wait for a very LONG time as Portage pulls in and compiles all the necessary packages to run KDE.

Once you've got KDE installed, it's fairly easy to start it. At the graphical login screen, under one of the menus, you'll get the choice of the window manager you'd like to use. Choose KDE, and when you login, you'll most likely be given the choice to set it to your default window manager. Click "yes", and then you won't have to worry about Gnome until you change the setting back.

Hope this helps

if you are new to linux why did you get gentoo?
gentoo is the hardest linux distro there is to learn

If you're new to Linux, I heavily recommend Ubuntu, Mepis and Mandriva.

If you would like to slowly edge your way into the Linux world, try LinuxXP - a linux distribution based off of Fedora Core 5, with full Win32 EXE support, and a Windows XP-like desktop environment.

Gentoo isn't all that bad except for the compile times. If you just run emerge kde , it will take a while. If you've not done that yet, you might consider using the split ebuilds.

I am running Mepis now...

try PCLinux OS