I'm completely new to Linux. Any help out there would be appreciated...
I downloaded Knoppix 5.1 and it downloaded as an .iso file. I burned it to CD but can not get my computer to boot from the CD. I've checke the boot order and changed it so my CD drive is first, but still no dice. Any pointers???

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

did you burn it right?

you DONT just burn the .iso as a file, you need to use a special ISO burner.

Have a look at DeepBurner (dont buy pro - theres a free version available). With Deepburner its as simple as choosing burn ISO and selecting the ISO to be burned.

Thank you very much. I'm in the process of burning it with DeepBurner now. Thanks so much for your help.

ok, so I burned the .iso image just fine and it booted from the cd, but its all in germa. I'm positve I downloaded the English version. Is there a way to change the language settings before I attmept another 2 hour download?

when you get to the textbased part that requires you to hit enter (should usually say something like boot: ) change it to read this:

boot: knoppix lang = us keyboard=us, xkeyboard=us

knoppix also isnt a particuarly good distibution to begin linux with by the way. You may want to take a look at ubunntu instead as it is much easier and runs off the cd like knoppix, although it has an icon that allows you to install if you want.

Thanks again, I got it to work fine. Now that I know the steps to take, I'm going to try Ubunntu like you suggested. Thanks!