I am new to Linux and have tried to set up a dual-boot with Windows Vista and Ubuntu Linux using a disk partition. I have successfully partioned the disk with Windows on one partition and Linux on the other using the automatic partition function during the Linux installation. My problem is that I cannot boot from the Windows partition and I don't know enough to fix it. Please help.

Contributors
Replies
Views
10 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by vsss

More information please. When you start up your computer, is an option to boot Windows listed anywhere in GRUB (the bootloader)? What is the output on the screen?

No, the option to boot Windows is not listed when GRUB comes up. When I boot up it gives me the option to load Ubuntu normally, in recovery mode, or run a memory test if I hit ESC.

If it helps, Windows was loaded on the computer to begin with and the Linux installation came after. During the Linux installation I used the automatic partitioner and partitioned the hard drive into 2 even halves. I only know that Windows is on the other half because I used Disks Manager and I was able to see that all the Windows files are on one of the partitions.

First of all, kick GRUB into command line mode by hitting 'c'. Then, see if entering the following lines do anything:
(I'm assuming that your Windows partition is the first one on the drive. If it's the second, replace the 0 after the first comma with a 1.)

rootnoverify(hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Let us know if it works. If it does, I can show you how to edit your configuration file to add a Windows option.

I've been having the same trouble as tringler, and have been following the advice. Unfortunately, I have still been unable to boot into vista. It had been mentioned how to edit conf file to add a windows option. could you explain that please?