I keep getting the following Error Message when attempting to create a PDF "OffendingCommand: findfont ]%%

Also, I am creating drawings in Pagemaker, grouping them and trying to copy and paste into Word (which I used to be able to do when I discovered the problem creating a PDF). Now the computer is telling me that the Clipboard cannot accept the image I'm trying to paste.

I'm on a deadline, as are many of you I'm sure, and desperate!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hello,

Don't know where to begin, as if I had to guess, you are using OS 8 or OS 9, and perhaps Acrobat Writer or Acrobat Distiller. It is possible that the clipboard doesn't like the image because it may be a vector file, or perhaps a EPS file (which is rendered on the fly).

Please let us know what OS you are working with, and what you are trying to generate the .pdf file with.

Thanks.

Christian

Sorry for not giving you all the info -- I'm a bit of a novice at this...
The system is OS 9. I'm trying to use Acrobat Distiller - which has always worked in the past. I've constructed a drawing in Pagemaker, and what I usually do is turn it into a PDF so I can email it to computers that don't have Pagemaker.
Thanks so much for responding to my plea!

Hello,

I have had a problem once in a blue moon with OS 9 Distiller and a bad font. Create a copy of your document in Pagemaker. Change the fonts to all one font... and I would pick one that is not in your present document. Try that... see if it works. If so, then you know that your orig document has a font corruption issue.

If there is still a failure, then try removing the picture. Then it is the picture's fault. In that case, you might need to have pagemaker open with the picture installed. Take a screenshot of it and crop in photoshop. Then put the PICT image in there instead of the other one. See if that works. If so, replace that PICT image with something 300 x 300 dpi so that it prints nice.

Good luck.

Christian