Hello everyone, i am a newbie so please bare with me cause it's been only 4 days since i started working with windows server 2003,
I've made a DHCP server and the clients are getting their IPs correctly and the Internet service is working on the server computer, the only problem i am having is that the client still can't surf which seems it's something about DNS, the following is the statics i have:

1- Incoming Internet Service (from the ISP):-
IP (DHCPed): 192.168.0.111
Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway : 192.168.0.1
DNS1 : 208.67.222.222
DNS2 : 208.67.220.220
----------------------------------------------

2- Router (is used to avoide the 255.255.255.0 mask problem from the ISP):-
IP (DHCPed) : 192.168.0.111
Scope(DHCP) : 10.0.0.3 - 10.0.0.254
subnet mask : 255.255.255.0
----------------------------------------------

3- Windows Server:-
A- WAN (DHCPed)
B- LAN:-
IP : 192.168.0.1
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Scope: 192.168.0.3 - 192.168.0.254

PS: I've tried several DNS's, the origion DNS(208.67.222.222, 208.67.220220), as well as 10.0.0.1, 10.0.0.50 (the WAN DHCPed IP) but nothing happened.

any help will be very appreciated, Thanks in advance :)

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Is the information listed under "1 - ISP" the information they sent you on paper to configure your device or is it the ISP's router and you have another router of your own behind theirs?

I get these information when I put their connection on another independent PC, and then i called them to make sure of it and was correct.
BTW they're using mikrotik as their own server

So does the ISP have a router in your facility?

yup, as i think, they are routing using mikrotik but i can't reconfigure anything

Oh i forgot to mention that if i disattach the windows server pc, and connect clients directly to the router everything works like charm.