Hey guys,

Let me start by saying that I'm not a computer networking expert or something, I'm studying networking from free materials I got on the net, CCNA etc.
I'm helping the lady in our town's library to make a schematic of the 11devices on the network, and to find out where all their cables go coz they have, for three years now, not had any drawings or paperwork on the network whatsoever. They have a Cisco 2800series router that connects to the T1 connection, then from their it connects to a Cisco 1811 wireless router, then to an Allied Telesyn switch, and then to a linksys switch. Now some of the computers are hard wired to the Allied Telesyn switch and Linksys switch.(they have two switches coz some computers are far from the Allied Telesyn switch, and implemented it so they just have one cable running to the linksys and then the computers near the linksys are connected to it. i guess the person who intalled it didnt want to run an additional of 6 cables all the way to the Allied Telesyn switch).

When we did an IPconfig on all the devices, we saw that all the hard wired devices have a default gateway different from the wireless ones. Is this something that you configure inside the Cisco 1811 router? To have a default gateway of lets say 192.168.1.1 for the hard wired devices, and 192.168.5.1 for the wireless devices? I can't seem to understand this, yet all the devices have a connection to the internet through the Cisco 1811 router. The subnet mask of the whole network is 255.255.255.0 for all devices, wireless or wired. So its not subnetted then?
I hope I make sense.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies