I'm an experienced web developer in the confines of a .net environment. I'll looking to start working on a desktop application, but I'd like to steer away from .net.

The programming language should meet the following criteria:

- High level Object Oriented (higher than C, more like C#)
- Not dependent on external installations (i.e. .net framework, Java Console)
- Has a strong community backing (tutorials, libraries, ect)
- The language is not C++.

So... any and all suggestions are accepted. I'd prefer a variety of languages to pick from, so don't all suggest the same thing. :)

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Perl

Or INTERCAL ;)

Haskell. It's not object oriented -- it's better than object oriented. I "recommend" this because it's my language of choice, but there's a huge learning curve, so it's not ideal.

The only real language is, BrainF'

commented: 'uck I quite agree! +4

Step back to Delphi... (btw, i also like the other mentioned languages)

If you drop Point #2, Python can be your wand. It is a language which will support easy transformation of your ideas to codes.
If you drop Point #4, C++ satisfies all the above points.

Perl is an interpreted language.

I still would go with python since it is really easy to learn and follow. It is not as fast as most of the compile time languages(like C,C++) but you won't care about speed for most of the matters.(All I meant to say is that it will compete C|C++ in most cases)
Python though requires python runtime requirement. But it is not a bad thing until you are programming stealth tools like trojan horses or keyloggers.

I agree with pritaeas: Delphi

Well too bad you seem to have a thing against a Python environment - Py3k is quite handy.
Seems like you'd also be against F# soooooo

1) D [ not C++ / not Java / not C# but ... functionality similar to and surpassing them all]

2) Ada
It is often overlooked but a lot of DoD drones n bots are actually logging 10s of thousands of 'successful' live hours.