Hello all, my name is Corey, I am new to DaniWeb, and new to programming. I am very interested in software and java programming, to eventually make it into my profession. I am starting college in the Fall, and want to get a head start. The following post is going to be full of questions, concerns, and requests for information, I hope that you fine people can help me out and maybe give me some insight into this field.

(Keep in mind that I am brand new, and have barely even picked up a book on Visual Basic 2008)

[Questions:]

My first question is: How is video game programming different from other types of programming? Are there certain elements of programming that I would need to learn that would not already be involved in regular programming courses at colleges?

My second question is: Where should I get started? What language should I learn first, or are there multiple languages I should start with?

[Information Requests:]

Good free information sites for starting out in any of the languages related to this field.

Good starting points in general for someone who wishes to become a software engineer.

Good literature for purchase on these subjects for beginners.

Pointers for getting started and keeping interest.

Any other resources, tips, or information you may have or are willing to share.

As well as anything else I didn't think of here that you believe will be important for me starting out.

I greatly appreciate any and all information, please take the time to address some of my questions and requests, I thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hello all, my name is Corey, I am new to DaniWeb, and new to programming. I am very interested in software and java programming, to eventually make it into my profession. I am starting college in the Fall, and want to get a head start.

The best way to get a head start is to go to http://docs.python.org/tutorial/ and start programming.