Hi!!!!
I'm currently doing BCS. I'm in last year...
I dont know what to do after my graduation.
I have so much interest in programming..
But I want to practice more programs before i go to find a job.
I was thinkin of takin a break for a year.
Mybe i can gor for some certifications in that year.
I want to learn more n more about programming before i start my career. Can anyone help me..
i just want to know what to after my graduation.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Good employers don't place too much emphasis on "certifications", but on what you know and what you have done. If you are going to take a year to refine your skills, then sign up and start contributing to a serious open source project. In our organization, that would count for major points in the interview process, especially if you contributed some serious updates, bug fixes, enhancements, etc (stuff that can easily be verified). In my interview, I had to write on the whiteboard the C (or Java) code to compute a factorial. That was to prove that I knew how to write basic code, and had an understanding of recursion. I got the job, and am now senior systems engineer for a $40B company, working on bleeding-edge technology. I have no meaningful certificates, and indeed no actual degree. As the old saying goes, never let school get in the way of your education! :-) However, I do have a non-trivial software patent for adaptive systems software, am a published author in technical journals and a graduate-level IT text book, and have been an invited presenter at major IEEE and ACM conferences - all stuff that can be verified on the internet or with the organizations/publishers in question.