Start New Discussion within our Computer Science Community

Hi all! First of all I apologize if I am on a wrong forum but I am using this forum first time.
I am new to this field and I have a big problem. I take a class for pseudocode and I have an assignment to create a program that will manage a recipe collection. The last 7 weeks we were working with modular processing and the last week we learned a little bit about object-oriented programs. I still do not have feedback from the professor for that OOP assignment and I am not even sure if I got it right. Meanwhile I have to create this program and make a combination of both oop and modular procesingg. Based on my knowledge till now I started creating a modular processing but I always get stuck when I think about how to include OOP too.
So, I have a Recipe Collection that contains recipes which belong to 8 different categories(appetizers, soups, salads, main dishes, side dishes, deserts, beverages, uncategorized). The actions included in this program would be Add new recipe, Find a recipe, Remove a recipe, and maybe List all recipes. I have so many ideas how to do this and I end up confused. Please I need guidance how to start. Should I create classes and subclasses first or should I use arrays and sequential files? Please help as soon as possible. Thank you!

This is called "functional decompisition" - breaking the problem down into understandable chunks. Using pseudo-code is good for this. The approach to solving this problem in particular can be functional, or class-oriented. First, think about the problem domain, and then determine which approach fits best. FWIW, sometimes it is a combination of both! :-) In my 30+ years of software engineering experience, I still find that most problems are best solved with a combination approach.