Hello,
I'm new to the forum so please give a hand:)
I've been working with php/MySQL for about 6 months, just trying out new stuff and so, but now I feel ready to build a REAL site!

I'd like to make one of those community sites where everyone has their profile, personal messages, gallery (with tags and gallery folders), a blog and a list of people that viewed the users profile / list of profiles that the user viewed.

What's bugging me is the DB design. Should I:

A) Make a few GLOBAL tables (e.g. gallery, image_list, user_list, viewed_profiles, blog, tags..) in which I would store the info of EVERY user (indentified by their ID), or

B) Make all of the tables mentioned above (e.g. gallery, image_list, user_list, viewed_profiles, blog, tags and so on) for every user INDIVIDUALY (e.g. user John would have tables: john_gallery, john_blog, john_tags).

I'm asking this because I'm worried about speed. What if the site has 10 000 or more users?
In case A that would mean having millions of messages in a single table and being very slow.
In case B I will probbably end up with hundreds of thousands of tables in my DB.

Or is there a solution C?:-O

Help:)

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hello,
I'm new to the forum so please give a hand:)
I've been working with php/MySQL for about 6 months, just trying out new stuff and so, but now I feel ready to build a REAL site!

I'd like to make one of those community sites where everyone has their profile, personal messages, gallery (with tags and gallery folders), a blog and a list of people that viewed the users profile / list of profiles that the user viewed.

What's bugging me is the DB design. Should I:

A) Make a few GLOBAL tables (e.g. gallery, image_list, user_list, viewed_profiles, blog, tags..) in which I would store the info of EVERY user (indentified by their ID), or