Hello Techies,

I'm not a techie, just love computers. I bought a Toshiba lap top about 2 years ago and since then, I've had nothing but problems. Thank GOD I purchased a warranty because now I get a new lap top for the same price I paid. Basically, what is the best lap top computer I can get for $1699.00? I've heard that I should go with an Apple because they have less problems than Windows based systems. I am totally scared of Windows Vista....I think that probably has a lot of bugs to work out. I basically want to use my lap top to cruise the Internet, download music, upload video to make DVD's and have a decent battery life.

I get to do this on Saturday so any advice would be so greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

>Basically, what is the best lap top computer I can get for $1699.00?
That's a very subjective question to which there is no correct answer.

>I've heard that I should go with an Apple because they have less
>problems than Windows based systems.
Macs are fairly reliable, but that doesn't mean there aren't reliable PC brands available, too.

>I am totally scared of Windows Vista
There aren't very many PC manufacturers that still sell laptops with Windows XP preinstalled.

You'll probably want to take a look at the Apple MacBook. It's $1250 USD, I believe, and it has decent built-in wireless capability, comes preinstalled with the DVD authoring tool iDVD, although you might be a little disappointed with the battery life you get from using it. For me, I get around 2 hours under heavy usage, maybe 4 if I'm doing something simple like word processing. Oh, and the hardware aspect of it is excellent. Never had a problem.

Another brand that is fairly decent are the Sony laptops. Acer and Dell are also worth a peek, too.