Hello all, my first post on these boards.

I have spent the last few hours reading this section of the boards and I have noticed many new to programming people ask the same question:
What language should I use, where should I start, what should I learn, etc etc.

All beit those are generic questions with no real single answer, however it is the answers I found that brought a question to my mind that I would like some of the more expeirenced game programmers to think about and answer:

Most of the replies I read told the op they should learn c/c++, a few other languages were mentioned.

Is it that c/c++ are the older language and more widely used?

My question:
Is there any specific reasoning one would not recomend vb or more specific to my needs Delphi using DelphiX to design games?
I have been playing with Delphi for about 2 years now (I find it much better than vb) and it uses Pascal as the base language (making it close to c++ in coding)
Is it lack of information on the web about Delphi that it is not mentioned on the more prominent websites dealing with game platforms or game design?
Should I move out of Delphi and start learning another language (although knowing more languages is not a bad thing)
I can do simple games but am looking to get more complex by creating a multiplayer game allowing users to connect to a single databse hosting the game engine/rules engine, while the users hold the graphics, sounds, locally.
Would I be better switching languages?
I am currious as if I should switch I would like to do it now before I dive into this game developement and just become frustrated and give up on what seems to be a fun hobby and career for some.
thank you for your time and hope to see some real support and not trolls as I have seen on other forums.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

>Is there any specific reasoning one would not recomend vb or
>more specific to my needs Delphi using DelphiX to design games?