Hi All,

I am an experienced Java developer and since a few weeks I joined a project which involved real time rendering of 3D objects and interaction with those objects. I have a problem for which I hope that an experienced 3D programmer can help me. Usage:

• I’ve rendered an 3D Sphere object which in this case is a perfect ball (not eggs shape) using Spherical Texture mapping.
  • The idea is that a user can interact with this ball and rotate the ball. The user clicks a location on the ball and the user is to enter a ‘dot’ on the ball. Thereafter the user can rotate the ball and place other dots on the ball.

Problem statement

1. When a user clicks the surface of the ball our application is able to get the mouse position (x, y) in Canvas2D.

Question: How can I convert the mouse position to the Texture position in order to update the ball surface?

If you are able to help or if you need more information please let me know because I am really stuck with this.

Martijn Hermanns

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Ok kiddo, what api are you using?

JOGL or java 3d?

How much of this have you read.

Have you been through the tutorials?

I read a lot but haven't found a solution for my problem so far. Please instruct me if there are any tutorials which could meet my problem.

The problem is that we have to rotate the ball and that is where I get lost.

Ok, first of all I'd use the JOGL api. It looks good.

Then I'd work throught the NeHe tutorials. Fortunately, some kind soul has ported them to JOGL.

Read this

Have a look at this as well.

It's a basic java program that rotates a wireframe object in 3d space.
All you have to do is provide the coordinates of the model. (Source code provided)

Just make sure you unzip the file after downloading it. (Right -clicked the folder icon and select extract all)

[IMG]http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/5761/oirz8.th.gif[/IMG]