Hello, C newbie here...

below is a driver for a pretty simple function which is supposed to read in n chars from input and store in a char array.

#include <stdio.h>
#define SIZE 81

void get_str (char * array, int n) ;

int main (void)
{
	char instr [SIZE] ;
	printf ("Please enter string for storage:\n") ;
	get_str (instr, SIZE) ;
	printf ("The first %d characters of the string entered were:\n", SIZE) ;
	puts (instr) ;

return 0 ;
}

void get_str (char * array, int n)
{
	int count ;
	char ch ;
	for (count = 0; count < SIZE && (ch = getchar()); count++)
		*(array + count) = ch ;
}

I would have expected that this code wouldn't work, because there is no null character stored at the end of the array. However, I tried compiling and running, and it works fine...not that I'm complaining, but why is there no null character needed?

Cheers:)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

what makes you think your program is working? The loop on line 21 doesn't stop when you press the <Enter> key. And if you just type in a bunch of crap you get this:

Please enter string for storage:
lkaslkjas;lkfjaslkfjas;lkjfg;lkjglkjerpoitjergokjjgk;lkeo;ijtoijtrhoijrt;hoijrth
oijtgoijegoijewgoiejgoierjgpoijergoijergoijwegpoijwergpoiwjergpoiwejg
The first 81 characters of the string entered were:
lkaslkjas;lkfjaslkfjas;lkjfg;lkjglkjerpoitjergokjjgk;lkeo;ijtoijtrhoijrt;hoijrth
o╠╠╠╠╠╠╠óÇÇæ|■1
Press any key to continue . . .

Notice the junk stuff at the bottom just before "Press any key ...". That's caused by the string not being null terminated.

>why is there no null character needed?
Dumb luck. The next byte after your array just happens to have the value 0.

>*(array + count) = ch ;
Just out of curiosity, why add the unnecessary complexity of pointer notation here?

>*(array + count) = ch ;
Just out of curiosity, why add the unnecessary complexity of pointer notation here?

Is it really that much complex from array[count] that it would warrant wondering?
Separate question: