I am a complete beginner to python (I have only used it for a statistics class in the past). I want to develop a program that is kind of like FreeMind - it will allow the user to create Ishikawa diagrams for a particular purpose.

So essentially I want the user to be able to construct the Ishikawa diagram from a user interface while the internal representation in the form of a tree is being constructed behind the scenes.

I am wondering if Python is a good language to do such a thing in? Can I develop good guis in python and if so what would the best tools be for the job if I wanted to do so? The reason I ask about Python is that the person I discussed this project with would prefer that to be the language if possible. Or is some other language (not java as the person does not prefer it) more suitable for the purpose?

Thanks for any advice that you can give me.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

I rekon you could do something simillar in python, of course it would take a lot of time and care but to do such a thing you need a GUI as you said and there are really only 3 main ones used (4 if you count qt).
That is
Tkinter
wxPython
pyGame

Firstly i don't think pyGame does the job, as the name states its for games.

Tkinter is pretty basic and no fun to work with in my opinion and in the end i pretty much do most things in wxPython as it is easy and great looking with lots of widgets that you can use to make things look even better.

So i think yes, you can do it, and i would do it in wxPython if i were you.

PyQt is by far the best gui toolkit for python. wxPython and pyGTK can't compare to it. It is a truly cross platform commercial grade library with excellent documentation. The only reason it doesn't have a broader user base is because the free version is under a gpl license (soon to be changed)