hi i need to know how to delete records from a flat file without emptying the whole thing anyone no how?????? thanks will be appreciated

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

that depends entirely on how the data is stored in the flat file... the problem with flatfiles, is that they are sequential. So, at the very least, you are going to have to loop through the lines in the file, until you find your record, remove your record, and re-write everything before (and after) your record. That's just how it goes with flatfiles. You don't really HAVE to, you could write your code so that if it finds a blank line during processing, that it just ignores it, but you are looking at mad database bloat. If you had written the file as "binary", then you could add and remove records without having to go through each line.... but with a flat-file, you pretty much have to.

hi im a beginner so i am not entirely sure what you mean, they are listed with no gaps one after another, thanks

right now, yes. But remove a record..... then what? There will be a blank line. Now you will have to somehow shift ALL LINES to cover down for the blank.

oh i see thanks. how do i sort out that do u know?

actually i think i need to know just how to refer to each record individually, ie what do i need to be able to refer to each record considering each has a unique number to each record, which is a piece of data within the record, can i just use this??

Well, how does it look in the database file? That is, what is the format of the fields?

firstname:lastname:date:phone

or something more like:

id, firstname, lastname, date, phone

?

like this:

id
name
surname
address

In a flat file a comma, a space, or a tab is usually used to separate the fields in a record. You have one record per line.
So, your file--if indeed it is a flat file--should look something like this in Notepad:
1, George, Jungle, #02/05/07#, 800-Jungle
2, Jane, WildWoman, #02/05/08#, 1-800-ClimbATree