ok i am a new programmer and am running in windows xp and 98 and am using the borland c++ builder 3, I am trying to make a window that will simply ask the user to input a string (called pathname) and store it to another file for use in another program. i can see a kinda outline like i explained, but have no idea how to implement it, can anyone help me?

p.s. can you guys also recomend the best compiler as well, i like the enviroment of borland but heard that there are better compilers, are there any that have the save enviroment but better?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

That's a pretty loaded question. Qualify first how you want to do it, meaning are you going to use a resource or create the dialog directly within code. Which compiler are you using now. If it's VC++ then are you using MFC. It might be an idea to post something you've already tried or a basic idea how you think it should be done and then help from whomever can be focused

Best compiler, well in 1998 when I bought VC++ 6.0 it was $700.00 Canadian. Does it make it the best one. I doubt it very much, but it's got a lot of stuff. It's been my experience the more STUFF a program has the more likely it's not very good at the job it's supposed to do. Other than that, I've used GCC and it is every bit as comprehensive as VC++, lacking IDE though (big deal). So your question should maybe be rephrased which compiler can I get for $$$, whatever your budget.

That's a pretty loaded question. Qualify first how you want to do it, meaning are you going to use a resource or create the dialog directly within code.

i think dialog directly within code, but then again i am a newby and don't really get the question, what do you mean by a resource

Which compiler are you using now. If it's VC++ then are you using MFC. It might be an idea to post something you've already tried or a basic idea how you think it should be done and then help from whomever can be focused