Hello all,

Note: This is a general question, and I did not find any other category in the forum to ask this question...

Last year, I got a copy of VS 2008 (VC 9.0) as gift. I liked it a lot! I started developing some simple applications using C ( Couldn't do much as I was in the school ). But, I was doing Project Euler problems now and then and had solved about 70 of them. Now, I have a long vacation, so I am going towards developing application based project using VC++. I studied C++ and Win32, followed later by MFC. Now, I am half-way through my project...

I was wondering, what is .NET Framework doing in the middle of my project, where, I only use Native C/C++ and not C++/CLI... I am not using any features of .NET as I know of. So, why does Visual Studio always ask me to target a Framework in my project. It is very difficult to deploy my applications to older computers and even computers which are not connected to the internet as they will not be updated with the latest .NET Framework. I have to deploy .NET Framework with my application for that reason...

So, is there any reason, why the Framework thing is important to my project, where I only use Native C/C++ with MFC?

Also, when I was doing Project Euler problems, where I used only C language (and as I did not know much, I only did console based programs), I still needed .NET Framework on the computer executing these simple problems... So, I could not use my simple, little programs even on other comps not having .NET Framework 2.0 or later...

If, it is not important to have .NET thing in my project, is there any way I can exclude it from my project, so that I can target all kind of users using windows?

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies