Hi guys, how can I attach or link a file (an "HTML document") - a saved Web page...
that when I click a command button, the "HTML document" will be executed, just like double-clicking it in the explorer window.

Just view the attached image file for better understanding about my question, it's a screen shot..

I've been trying it out for 2 days, but i can't figure it out...

Sorry, for I'm just a newbie in VB 6...:(

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi guys, how can I attach or link a file (an "HTML document") - a saved Web page...
that when I click a command button, the "HTML document" will be executed, just like double-clicking it in the explorer window.

Just view the attached image file for better understanding about my question, it's a screen shot..

Use your shell command i.e.

Shell (c:/PoisenedHeart.html), vbNormalFocus

Make sure to have the path name correct and specify the window focus after comma.

if you want to shell and view in ie u must use shell with iexplorer address (C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe) and youe html file parameter (see shell on msdn) but if c:\ not default windows path u have problem to open ur file.
with windows api you can open all of filetype with origininal application like mydoc.doc window open with word mypdf.pdf open with acrobat,... every thing open in winodws you can open it.

another way u can use iframe control and develope new viewer for you self

Use your shell command i.e.

Shell (c:/PoisenedHeart.html), vbNormalFocus

Make sure to have the path name correct and specify the window focus after comma.

I have tried it, but I got this error:

Run-time error '5'
Invalid procedure call or argument

My code is this:

Private Sub Command1_Click()
    Shell App.Path & "\QuizThing.html", vbNormalFocus
End Sub

You can view the screenshot....

Here's the full code. This works on my side. Copy and paste into your form module.

Option Explicit

Private Declare Function GetDesktopWindow Lib "user32" () As Long