Hi there, I am new to C++ and trying to get my head around it. I am writing really simple and small programs and I have Visual C++. Now, can anybody summarize how I can run a program I wrote with C++ on Visual? The guide that comes with the product doesn't seem to be that helpful, so I was just wondering if you guys can help me/telling me where to find a simple guide on how to run my own programs.
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

You should be able to open any standard *.cpp and *.h files without any special steps. What exactly is the issue you are having?

Are you trying to open the sources in VC++ and can't? Or are you trying to compile them after writing them for a different compiler and are getting errors?

Each IDE has its own version of a project system and the files that support it are mostly IDE specific, so you may need to create a new VC++ project to add your existing files to, but the sources should be openable without much, if any, messing around... Keeping that in mind, what are your current compiler and IDE?

Hi there,
basically the issue was that I couldn't work out how to use Visual C++ (I have got version 6.0). I managed to find some short tutorial, but still can't get my head around that. I was trying to compile a simple program (which I uploaded as an attachment) I found on my manual, but I am not sure how to do it.
I have selected File, New, Win32 Application, gave the project a name (Example 1), then selected "a typical Hello World! application", finish and Ok. Then with the new project open, I go File, New, and choose C++ source file, give it file name "Example final", select a location and ok. The, when I paste the code attached, I click F7 to compile and I got the following error:
--------------------Configuration: Example 1 - Win32 Debug--------------------
Compiling resources...
Compiling...
StdAfx.cpp
Compiling...
Example 1.cpp
Example final.cpp