Hello All;
I would like to start off by saying hello, and that this is actually my first post to the group, even though I have been a member for many years.

I am a ASP Classic Programmer, professionally for a little over a year, I have developed some rather nice sites, including the one in my signature (Still a work in progress).

I have been forced to use ASP.NET (VB) for a FileUpload control, as it offers a self controlled way of creating Thumbnails, without the use of 3rd party controls, which is great, as my hosting server does not allow for 3rd party installs on their servers.
So.

The code below is what I have so far for connecting to the database and displaying a record is the "cookie" exist on the users computer.
Unfortunantly, this is not working, and to be honest with you, their is not a whole lot of resources available to show how to do this correctly.
So I am stuck with a lot of post and hoping that someone can actually assist me with this and tell me what I am doing wrong and maybe correct my code.

I am getting an error about the "Connection is closed"
So, I am at a complete loss, I have asked this question on other forums and to no avail, and it like no one knows what to tell me.
They try to give me things to try, but absolutely nothing has worked so far.

So.
This is what I ask if you all if possible:

If you want to re-write my code, I prefer something simple and basic, as the only thing that I am doing to checking rather the user is logged in, and if so, display a record from the database.
I am NOT in the need for the DataGrid, so please do not suggest it, as I am only needing to check this one thing.

I would like to also add, that I have successfully contect to my database with the FileUpload control and save file names of the images uploaded, so I know that my connection string is done properly>
But, for some reason the "SELECT" statement is causing a HUGE issue.
(It was easier to insert, than to select, I am not use to that)

Thank you