I am new to programming but when I took my class on Visual Basic it seemed so easy and I learned it so fast. It seemed like a giant puzzle. Now I am taking a introduction course to C++ and I cannot seem to grasp the material at all. When I ask for help from my teacher he just says, "If you can learn one programming language, you can learn them all." I was just wondering if anyone else had this problem starting out and does it get any better from here? I'm very discouraged.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

What your teacher said is true to some extent, a lot of programming techniques are applicable to multiple languages. This does not mean that every language is equally easy to learn. C and C++ are lower languages than languages like VB, java etc. generally this also means that are harder to understand. Compare it to Assembly language, which is the lowest 'humanly readable' language.. and it's much harder to understand than C/C++.

Also, you say VB seems easy to you... but getting a program to work does not mean it's correct, you may have used bad or ineffecient techniques or only aimed at small problems: there are aspects of VB that are difficult to grasp as well.

So don't give up on C++ just because it seems so different/difficult at start... if you really love programming you will get through it and appreciate the power of C++ ;).

Thanks. I probably worded that wrong. Visual Basic wasn't actually easy...just easier than C++ (to me). I felt like I had to work forever and I have worked through several books on Visual Basic for practice but eventually I figured every project out. To my suprise a lot of the code matched the answer code that came with the books when I checked my work. It just seems like the harder I work on C++, the farther away I get from the correct answer...or any answer at all.