Hello all!
i am a beginner to network programming. I am trying to make an application in vb.net 2008 where in i can open a file from the client computer, do some changes to it and save it back. Can someone please throw some light on how should i go ahead with it and what will be the best way to do the same.
Thanks you!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I am trying to make an application in vb.net 2008 where in i can open a file from the client computer, do some changes to it and save it back.

There's no difference between network files and local files in the way you open and modify them. That may be a bit simplified statement but basically that's how it goes.

Here's a snippet that uses a OpenFileDialog to select a (text) file, reads the file's content and displays the content in a mulltiline textbox

Dim FileName As String              ' File's name
Dim oStream As FileStream           ' Using System.IO
Dim fStreamReader As StreamReader   ' Using System.IO (could use My.Computer.FileSystem.ReadAllText())
Dim FileText As String              ' Read a text file

OpenFileDialog1.AddExtension = False
OpenFileDialog1.CheckFileExists = True
OpenFileDialog1.CheckPathExists = True
OpenFileDialog1.DefaultExt = ""
OpenFileDialog1.FileName = ""
OpenFileDialog1.Filter = "All Files (*.*)|*.*"
OpenFileDialog1.InitialDirectory = ""
OpenFileDialog1.Multiselect = False
OpenFileDialog1.RestoreDirectory = True
OpenFileDialog1.SupportMultiDottedExtensions = True
If OpenFileDialog1.ShowDialog() = DialogResult.OK Then
    FileName = OpenFileDialog1.FileName
    Try
        FileText = ""
        oStream = New FileStream(FileName, FileMode.Open, FileAccess.Read, FileShare.Read)
        fStreamReader = New StreamReader(oStream)

Do Until fStreamReader.EndOfStream
            FileText = FileText & fStreamReader.ReadLine() & Environment.NewLine
        Loop
        TextBox1.Multiline = True
        TextBox1.Text = FileText
        ' Clean up
        fStreamReader.Close()