I'm trying to put together a code that will basically take a user input string and reprint every 3rd character.

i.e.

if a user inputs "Superman" it should be reprinted like "S e a"

I'm sure this is Uber-simple to you but I'm just starting out, whether it is efficient at this point doesn't matter.

I do know the command to count how many of what letter there are like this:

>>> cnt = {}
>>> for c in s:
	cnt[c] = cnt.get(c,0) + 1

But obviously that doesn't do what I want... Is there a simple way to do this?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

What you want is in three pieces:

1. The built in function range() which takes three parameters: first, last+1 and step. Use this to create a sequence of indices into your string. I'm not going to do this for you: It is very simple.
  2. List comprehension (see note below) that builds a list from a sequence: Build the list of your letters using the indices from the range. Something like this: [my_string[x] for x in range(....)]
  3. The string method join() that concatenates elements of a list. Once again, this is very simple.

Using these three pieces, you can do what you need on one line. Even without the list comprehension, you can do it in a simple loop, where you use the += operator to append the next character to the subsequence string you are buliding.

Note: You don't really need to use list comprehension, since str.join works with any sequence, including a generated one. The generator form of a comprehension is slightly more efficient than the list form... if the list would get large, anyhow. In your case it probably doesn't matter at all. If you don't understand what I just said, you might want to go back and read the list comprehension doc again. Or wait until you get to generators in your studies.

By the way: Thanks for finding and using the (CODE) button. Be sure to use the 'this thread is solved' link when, in fact, the thread is solved.