I'm new to VB.net and am looking for some advice. To start with I need to develop something that I can import 3 different csv files into and then once I've created a query then return my results in a datagrid view. I'm not sure where to start with how I can create the form to be able to select the csv files and then import into an access mdb. I have to use this as we don't have SQL Server and can't do it all in Access as we don't have licences for that either (only certain people have it)

1.How could I create a form in VB.net to be able select the csv files
2.would it be best to import directly into mdb or show in VB first
3. Once imported how can I return a dataset from access into a VB datagridview?

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

1. Use a OpenFileDialog with .MultiSelect=True .

Dim myCoolOpenFileDialog As New OpenFileDialog
        With myCoolOpenFileDialog
            .Title = "Hold CTRL key while selecting a file to select multiple files at once..."
            .Filter = "CSV Files (.csv)|*.csv"
            .Multiselect = True
            If .ShowDialog = DialogResult.OK Then
                For Each selectedFile As String In .FileNames
                    MsgBox(selectedFile) '// get FullPath of each file.
                Next
            End If
        End With

2. If there is no need for it to be loaded in a Form, then there is no need.
3. Not my specialty, good luck. :)

Hope this helps.

Thanks for that :) I have now got a form that will enable me to select the files. I have the database built too. My question now is that once I have selected the files needed to import (3files always going to be the same3) how can I import them into Access?

With the code being a multi select how is possible to import into multiple tables, are there any demo ways of it being done?

I have to use this as we don't have SQL Server and can't do it all in Access as we don't have licences for that either (only certain people have it)