Hi,

I'm new to C++, I'm trying to write a program to compute the sine series for taylor expansion. I've written two codes, but both do not work after a certain point.

(The sine series is: sin x = x - (x^3/3!) + (x^5/5)...etc.)

With the code below, when x=1.5, n=3, I do not get the expected value of .9375, instead I get .375. I think the problem is in the if/else statement.

double sineSeries(double x, int n){
	double xPower = 0.0;
	double factorial = 1.0;
	double sineComputed = 0.0;
	bool sign = true;

for (int i=1; i<=n; i+=2){
		xPower = pow(x,i);
		factorial *= i;

if (sign) {
			sineComputed += xPower/factorial;
		}
		else {
			sineComputed -= xPower/factorial;
		}
		sign = !sign;
	}

return sineComputed;
}

I also tried starting with i=3. Here, I have a problem when x=1.5, n=5; I get 1.25391 instead of 1.00078. Again, I think the problem is in the if/else statement, but I'm not sure where.

double xPower = 0.0;
	double factorial = 3.0;
	double sineComputed = x;
	bool sign = true;

for (int i=3; i<=n; i+=2){
		xPower = pow(x,i);
		factorial *= (i-1);

if (sign) {
		}
		else {
		}
		sign = !sign;
	}

return sineComputed;
}

I prefer the first version of the code actually, so I'd like more advice on how to fix that one up. I could probably fix the second one by myself. =)
Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Your factorial is wrong. Since you are updating by 2, you are missing terms in your factorial.

Separate the factorial into its own function. Or do this:

double xPower = 0.0;
	double factorial = 1.0;
	double sineComputed = 0.0;
	bool sign = true;

for (int i=1; i<=n; i+=2,factorial *= (i-1) * i){
		xPower = pow(x,i);

if (sign) {
		}
		else {
		}
		sign = !sign;
	}

return sineComputed;
}

Hi firstPerson,
This still doesn't work, when I try n=3, I get an answer of 120, instead of 3!. I'm a little confused, because it's i-1, and factorial=1, wouldn't that always give me a value of 0?