I am pretty new to C#. I am a Borland c++ developer and is used to "newing" and "deleting" objects programmatically.

I understand that with C# the garbage collector is responsible for the deleting of objects.

It seems though that I have a memory leak. I am developing a SQLServerDBInterface class (which I can easily use / include in other future projects). What I notice is that when I call my custom DBConnect function the memory (in task manager for this C# process) increases with a couple of bytes everytime.

Could you please have a look at this code and tell me if I should me deleting the object isntance myself?

Thanks in advance.

This is the code in my interface class

class SqlServerDatabaseInterface
    {
        private const int SI_SUCCESS = 0;
        private const int SI_EXCEPTION = -1000;

SqlConnection g_DbConnection = new SqlConnection();
        SqlCommand g_SqlCommand = new SqlCommand();
        String g_S_AdditionalInformation = "";

//---------------------------------------------------------------

public int ConnectToDB()
        {            
            try
            {
                g_DbConnection.Close();

g_DbConnection.ConnectionString = @"user id=sa;" +
                           "password=password;server=mssqlserver2008;" +
                           "Trusted_Connection=yes;" +
                           "database=Test; " +
                           "connection timeout=30";

g_DbConnection.Open();
            }
            catch(Exception e)
            {
                g_S_AdditionalInformation = e.Message;
                return SI_EXCEPTION;
            }

return SI_SUCCESS;
        }

this is the code in my test app that calls the DBinterface class

public partial class frmMain : Form
    {
        SqlServerDatabaseInterface l_SqlServerDatabaseInterface = null;

public frmMain()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
            l_SqlServerDatabaseInterface = new SqlServerDatabaseInterface();
        }