Hey guys I need some help with my assignment. First let me start off by telling you guys that I am new to program writing. My professor isn't helping us at all, in fact half of my class has dropped the course. I have to write a program that has a sorted list that can't be an array. I must also incorporate a palindrome into the program and it must be in GUI. Can some one help?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Hey guys I need some help with my assignment. First let me start off by telling you guys that I am new to program writing. My professor isn't helping us at all, in fact half of my class has dropped the course. I have to write a program that has a sorted list that can't be an array. I must also incorporate a palindrome into the program and it must be in GUI. Can some one help?

Hello I did a palindrome, but what do you mean by sorted list.

Hello I did a palindrome, but what do you mean by sorted list.

I'm sorry, like a linked list. or using a Queue or hash tables.

Hash tables are just a way to organise data so that retrieval of specific parts are quicker than a bog standard linear list. It can be likened to a binary search tree, where you separate the data into sections.

By sort you mean what exactly? Doyou wish to sort a list of potential palindromes into alphabetical order and then use the stack to test if they are palindromes?

I want to sort a list of potential palindromes into alphabetical order and then use the stack to test if they are palindromes.

you can't use any of the standard List classes for that.
There's a SortedSet which you could use but it isn't a List.

Either use another style of Collection or write your own SortedList which I've actually done about 2 years ago, took me only a few hours.
Can't give you the code, it belongs to the company, but it's rather simple to wrap a List interface around a SortedSet (for example).