I am new to Java, in fact I am just learning. I am have captured the location of an ant object as it moves across the frame and printed it to the screen. I now want to capture those locations at various times and write them to a file as Xcoord (float) and Ycoord(float).
I have read several sources on the web about java.io, and am very confused. Will someone give this newbee a hand?

Thanks,

Beginner Hal

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I assume you need help in getting those coordinates???

If so, then it should be fairly simple. If the object is moving across the screen, then obviously you are doing something to change it's coordinates. Just get the values that are changing. If you provide more information I can help you more.

I assume you need help in getting those coordinates???
If so, then it should be fairly simple. If the object is moving across the screen, then obviously you are doing something to change it's coordinates. Just get the values that are changing. If you provide more information I can help you more.

Thanks for the reply.

Capturiing the coordinates was not the problem. My program captures them and immediately prints them to the screen without putting them in an array or anything. I have no idea how many coordinates there will be and cannot size an array. Therefore, what I am looking to do is write them to an outfile instead of to the screen.

(in a Constructor)

// FileWriter outfile = new FileWriter ("antlog1.txt");    // Creats a new 
                                                                // file to track 
                                                                // the ants locations

(in a Method)

if (isAlive())
        {  
            cycle = cycle + 1;

Footprint fp = getBounds(); 
            xCoord = (float)fp.getXOrigin();
            yCoord = (float)fp.getYOrigin();

// Prints the current location of the ant to the screen.