In my application, i have put a question on form closing if the user wants to save the changes?. But right now, i have just put it in default whether they make changes or not.
I thought of prompting it on text change.. but the text automatically changes on load as it retrieves data from sql server. is there a way to rectify this?

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

yes i think you have to put your code at the got focus of that textbox , because without getting focus no change can be performed.

Regards

is there any other way? because each of my forms carry atleast 15 to 20 textboxes, not to mention, comboboxes, listviews, datagrid view, checkboxes and radio buttons. setting an on focus for all of them will take lot of code. I'm sorry. i'm new to vb. could i just do it with a function? or is there a way to cycle through all elements on the form?

Add two Booleans to your Global Variables set to False

Dim loaded As Boolean = False
Dim txtChanged As Boolean = False

Create a Sub to handle when any of the Text Boxes have a Text Changed event, say set a flag to true.

Private Sub Text_Changed(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs)
    If loaded Then
      txtChanged = True
    End If
  End Sub

In the Forms Load - loop through all the controls setting this Sub as the handler for your textboxes Text Changed event, after all SQL transactions have been completed set the loaded flag to true. This will prevent the txtChanged flag from being set to true until the user changes the text.

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

For Each cntrl As Control In Me.Controls
      If TypeOf (cntrl) Is TextBox Then
        AddHandler cntrl.TextChanged, AddressOf Text_Changed
      End If
    Next

'Simulated SQL DATA Being Added
    TextBox1.Text = "TEST DATA"
    TextBox2.Text = "TEST DATA"
    TextBox3.Text = "TEST DATA"
    TextBox4.Text = "TEST DATA"
    TextBox5.Text = "TEST DATA"