Been trying to figure out how to do this for a while, but I can't seem to find anything that exactly covers what I'm trying to do. I'm really a novice when it comes to vb .net, so this might be staring me in the face and I wouldn't know it.

I've got a Motorola MC3090 mobile barcode scanner running Windows CE 5.0 at work. I wrote a small program (in .net 3.5) that allows me to scan barcodes and then get counts for specific barcodes when I type all or part of the barcode into an textbox. That works pretty well for receiving, but I need something that works better for the reverse process (shipping things out).

I have an textbox which accepts the barcodes. When the scanner emulates an enter key press, it adds the code to a listbox and clears the input field. This process loops as many times as my quantity field specifies. There's another textbox which I use to input partial barcodes that I want counts for. It looks for strings in the listbox that match, dumps them into a second hidden listbox, and counts those.

If you're the tl;dr type, here's the short of what I want to do with all of the above. I want to take the contents of the visible listbox, summarize by listing each unique barcode, and have a count of how many of each unique barcode appears in the listbox.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

tl;dr?

How about this

Public Class Form1

Private Sub Form1_Load(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

Dim words() As String = Split("Some luck lies in not getting what you thought you wanted but getting what you have which once you have got it you may be smart enough to see is what you would have wanted had you known")

For Each word As String In words
            ListBox1.Items.Add(word)
        Next

End Sub

Private Sub btnScan_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnScan.Click

Dim unique As New Dictionary(Of String, Integer)

For Each item As String In ListBox1.Items