hi.. Im a beginner in visual basic 2010 im making my first project i created form3 for the search function so i created 2 checkbox to give the user the choice to choose to search by name or by date or by both of them and i created a button search then i created a datagridview to show up the results so im confused now how to start my project. should I start it with if checkbox1 checked then.... or what? some guidance will be appreciated.. thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

That depends on what you want to do. Can you do a search without any of the checkbox being checked? If you can then you can enable the button else only when one or more of the checkbox is checked will you be able to click the button.

There are a few ways you can do this. One easy way is to add an if..else in the button_click code so that if checkbox1 is checked, then show the results based on name. If checkbox2 is checked, then show results based on date. Either way, I assume that you are showing data from a database? correct.. so then its a matter of modifying your SQL query with a where clause.. for example... select columns from table where name = parameter, or select columns from table where date = parameter.

Hi , There are many ways to achieve your requirement. First you can decide whether you are going to give the privilege to the user to search based on more filters or filter based on one criteria.
For eg giving the option to search based on empno+name. If search required based on one criteria at a time you need to revisit the checkbox.

wen and gorgem and padagalingmg thanks for the fast replay .. but gorge yes im using database but i did not use sql yet in my project so i think your both ways i can get it better .. can you please explain which way u prefer and easier to do? and do i still can use code of sql with that code? in the other way? thanks a lot guys for all of you

and in case if i use your first way: