Hello,

I have written a program that uses trig functions and the results are in Radians. I would like to show the results in Degrees and have found a Method named RadianToDegree but am having difficulty applying it.

Can someone offer help with this, or perhaps a different way to accomplish what I need??

Thanks,

Jim

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

What code are you using? The formula is pretty simple.

radians * 180.0 / PI

Yes, thanks for that. I am quite familiar with the formula. I am very new to programming and trying to learn the ins-and-outs of using the many built in solutions for problem solving.

The program I am writing will have many instances of trig functions and therefore will require many instances of converting if I apply the formula. Instead I was hoping for some built in function that would universally do the conversion for me.

Thanks,

Jim

k, you said that you're having trouble applying a function you've already found. If you post the code that uses it, I can try to help out on that end. I don't think there's a function that does this built into .NET, but it's trivial to write.

As Inanna says:

Imports System.Math

Public Class Form1

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        TextBox1.Text = CStr(RadianToDegree(Sin(0.2345)))
    End Sub

Public Function RadianToDegree(ByVal radians As Single) As Single
        Return radians * 180.0 / PI
    End Function

End Class

What problems are you having? It works okay for me.

Thanks Wayne - That's pretty much the way I'm trying to use RadianToDegree, but whenever I try to apply it to my program it gets a blue underline with a statement saying

Name 'RadianToDegree' is not declared.

I'm too new to this to fully understand how to deal with that message.

Jim