Hi, im fairly new to C++ and would like help with using random number generators, i have heard of them but cant seem to find there code structure.
Any help is greatly appreciated :D

14 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by tesuji

download that zip of .cpp files

File list

C++ header file containing class definitions.
You must #include this in all C++ files that use this library.

Random number generator of type Mersenne twister.

Random number generator of type RANROT-B.

Random number generator of type RANROT-W.

Random number generator of type Mother-of-all (multiply with carry).

Template class for combining any two of these random number generators.

Example showing how to use these random number generators.

That should help alot in understanding the generators. Be aware that not all generators work with all platforms as c++ is multiplatform the generators will behave differently depending on those conditions.

If you do a google on the generator names you should find which are platform specific.

RANROT-W will work for windows as a starter though. Have fun learning ! :D

Your C++ compiler comes with a random number generator, rand(). There's a tutorial on the site here:

If you're producing a serious application you'll want something a little more sophisticated but for many purposes it's adequate.

Well producing a random number is very simple. Before you use the random number:
1. include time.h.
2. just put randomize() at the beginning of code.
3. Then use random() or if you want a range of random number, for e.g out of 4 to 20 you want one, declare
random(n) returns numbers from 0 to n-1, hence 1 was added, so as general:
random(upper limit-lower limit +1) + lower;
Since random returns int, you have to store it in int variable.

I hope that much would make it clear. And I know that you really do not need too complicated random functions at this moment, for if it is,lol, dont ask me, i dont know. These are enough.

Hi Matthew,