Hi, im fairly new to C++ and would like help with using random number generators, i have heard of them but cant seem to find there code structure.
Any help is greatly appreciated :D

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

http://www.agner.org/random/randomc.zip

download that zip of .cpp files

File list

randomc.h
C++ header file containing class definitions.
You must #include this in all C++ files that use this library.

mersenne.cpp
Random number generator of type Mersenne twister.

ranrotb.cpp
Random number generator of type RANROT-B.

ranrotw.cpp
Random number generator of type RANROT-W.

mother.cpp
Random number generator of type Mother-of-all (multiply with carry).

rancombi.cpp
Template class for combining any two of these random number generators.

ex-ran.cpp
Example showing how to use these random number generators.

That should help alot in understanding the generators. Be aware that not all generators work with all platforms as c++ is multiplatform the generators will behave differently depending on those conditions.

If you do a google on the generator names you should find which are platform specific.

RANROT-W will work for windows as a starter though. Have fun learning ! :D

Your C++ compiler comes with a random number generator, rand(). There's a tutorial on the site here:

[thread]1769[/thread]

If you're producing a serious application you'll want something a little more sophisticated but for many purposes it's adequate.

Well producing a random number is very simple. Before you use the random number:
1. include time.h.
2. just put randomize() at the beginning of code.
3. Then use random() or if you want a range of random number, for e.g out of 4 to 20 you want one, declare
random(20-4+1)+4;
random(n) returns numbers from 0 to n-1, hence 1 was added, so as general:
random(upper limit-lower limit +1) + lower;
Since random returns int, you have to store it in int variable.