Hey im new to this C++ business but i just wanted to know cause i find lots or errors coming up to me :'( .. whats the difference between int main and void main.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I don't know. But most here will tell you to never use void main()

If you don't return a value to the operating system, then whatever happens to be in EAX at the time will probably be returned and this may cause undesirable results. That is why void main () is a definite NO NO!

Startup routines that call main could be assuming that the return value will be pushed onto the stack. If main() does not do this, then this could lead to stack corruption in the program's exit sequence, and cause it to crash.

They'll probably tell you to never use goto as well, but that doesn't mean you should just listen to them. Find out why, and then do what is best; and yes, the popular opinion can be wrong sometimes.

main() is a special function that, as mentioned, returns to the OS a value signifying if it completed successfully or not (0 being success, any other being typically an error). The OS usually doesn't act on that, but other programs waiting for yours might. The C and C++ standards have specified that main() should return an int-compatible type (which void is not). So, there's both technical and conventional reasons why you should not use void.

well ty guys i think im going to ask my IT teacher ... but he sucks thats why i said to ask here first :)
thx again

They'll probably tell you to never use goto as well, but that doesn't mean you should just listen to them. Find out why, and then do what is best; and yes, the popular opinion can be wrong sometimes..